Click here to sign up for city emergency alerts - including community event alerts, Fire Department notifications, law enforcement alerts, general information alerts, and public works notifications

Please be advised:
City offices will be closed on Monday, May 27th, in observance of the Memorial Day holiday.

Korean Ambassador of Peace


If you served in the Korean War, you may be eligible for the Korean Ambassador for Peace Medal. This commemorative medal is an expression of appreciation from the Korean government to American servicemen and women who served in the Korean War. The Ambassador for Peace Medal began to be presented to veterans as a special memento for those who returned to South Korea through the ‘Revisit Program’.

The honor has since expanded to veterans who cannot travel the long journey to Korea.


  • To be eligible, the veterans must have served during the Korean War from June 25, 1950, to July 27, 1953. It is also available for veterans who have participated in UN peacekeeping operations until the end of 1955.
  • The commemorative medals may be awarded posthumously.  The next of kin, such as the spouse or descendants may apply for the medal on behalf of a deceased veteran.
  • In order to apply for this commemorative medal, veterans or their family members have to complete the application form.  Veterans need to provide a copy of the Veteran’s Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty along with their application form for verification purposes.
  • Please send your completed application form to Republic of Korean Consulate-Boston: 300 Washington Street, 2nd Floor, Newton MA 02458  Tel: (617) 641-2830 Fax: (617) 641-2831


Massachusetts Medal of Liberty


In accordance with Massachusetts General Law Chapter 33 Section 67A, the Medal of Liberty is awarded to the next of kin of servicemen and women from the commonwealth killed in action or who died in service while in a designated combat area in the line of duty or who died as a result of wounds received in action. The Adjutant General and 2 field grade officers of the military forces of the commonwealth detailed by the commander-in-chief constitutes the commission to make recommendations to the commander-in-chief for the awarding of the Medal of Liberty.

Medal of Liberty The criteria for the Medal of Liberty are:

  1. In any action against an enemy of the United States.
  2. In any action with an opposing armed force of a foreign country in which the Armed Forces of the United States are or have been en
  3. While serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an armed conflict against an opposing armed force, in which the United States is not a belligerent party.
  4. As a result of an action of any such enemy of opposing g armed forces.
  5. As the result of an act of any hostile
  6. While in a designated combat area in the line of duty or who died as a result of wounds received in action.
  7. After 28 March 1973, as a result of an international terrorist attack against the United States of a foreign nation friendly to the United St
  8. After 28 March 1973, as a result of military operations, while service outside the territory of the United States as part of a peacekeeping or humanitarian for
  9. After 6 December 1941, by weapon fire while directly engaged in armed conflict, regardless of the weapon causing the wound.
  10. While held as a prisoner of war or while being taken captive.

How to Apply:

  1. Complete part I and 11 of TAGMA Form 3367. Also enclose any documentation you feel will be helpful in the application
  2. Mail to:


Office of the Adjutant General Attention: Medal of Liberty

2 Randolph Road – Bldg. 1505 Hanscom AFB, MA 01731-3001

Surviving family members requesting the Medal of Liberty must apply for the award through the Office of the Adjutant General, 2 Randolph Road, Hanscom Air Force Base, MA 01731. The Commonwealth of Massachusetts War Records Section in the Office of the Adjutant General is responsible for validation requests.

Following a review and validation of records, those next of kin of Army, Navy, Marine, Air Force, Coast Guard, and the United States Merchant Marine so qualified are awarded the Massachusetts Medal of Liberty by the Office of the Adjutant General, Massachusetts National Guard.

Please allow three (3) months for the Medal of Liberty application to be processed.

Medal of Liberty Degrees of Kinship



The order of precedence for the Medal of Liberty shall be:

  1. Surviving spouse
  2. Surviving children by seniority
  3. Surviving parent(s)
  4. Surviving siblings
  5. Surviving nieces or nephews
  6. Thereafter surviving kin in accordance with prevailing Massachusetts


Where two or more persons apply for the Medal of Liberty, the medal shall be presented to the person senior in the above order of precedence.

The Massachusetts Medal of Liberty Commission is a public body subject to the Massachusetts Open Meeting Law. Medal of Liberty Commission meetings are held three (3) times per year in February, June, and September Notice of scheduled meetings of a Massachusetts Medal of Liberty commission can be found at

MOL Brochure 2019


Close window