Holyoke Firefighter Award Ceremony Text Size

The Holyoke Fire Department held it’s annual Awards Ceremony on Thursday, November 14th at its headquarters, located at 600 High Street.

Paul L. Gubala received the Distinguished Service Award. Gubala retired this spring as a Captain after 32 years with the Fire Department. The Distinguished Service Award is awarded by the Board of Fire Commissioners to a firefighter who has exemplified a positive image for the fire service and is committed to strengthening the role and image of the department within the community.

John E. Golden received the 2013 Daniel Boyle Memorial Award, which recognizes courage in the face of adversity, dignity despite despair, a positive spirit that is contagious and a deep love for family, friends, and the city of Holyoke.

The award is named in honor of Fire Department Lt. Daniel A. Boyle who was 40 when he died of brain cancer in 2008.

Captain James Byrnes received the 2013 Arthur J. Petit, Jr. Award. The award goes to an individual who has displayed honorable service to the department and has exhibited a positive image of the fire service that makes a difference for the overall good of the department.

Petit, 58, died on July 13, 1996 after collapsing from a heart attack while fighting a fire above Medina’s Market at 399 Main St. He was a 25-year veteran, lived in Westfield and was a U.S. Coast Guard veteran.

Company Citations went to Truck 1 – Capt. Mark Fortin and firefighters Patrick Shea, Charles Lavelle and Eric Dorman – and Engine 6 – Lt. Stephan Matusko and firefighters Anthony Gazda and George Soderbaum.

The citations were for firefighters’ efforts helping in West Springfield during the June 1, 2011 tornado at 667 Union St.

Award recipients are determined by a committee of five firefighters assigned by the chief after company officers write recommendation letters.

Posted on November 19, 2013 by