Wistariahurst Museum

Acquiring its name from the flowering vine, Wistariahurst is an historic house museum. Wistariahurst Museum reflects the lives and tastes of both generations of the Skinner family. The museum features original leather wall coverings, columns, elaborate woodwork and an interesting tale of how two generations perceived and used the house very differently.

 

The museum's permanent collection includes decorative arts; paintings and prints, textiles, and a rich manuscript collection of family and local papers. The museum offers a wide variety of programs and events, including workshops, concerts, lectures, and demonstrations. The museum is also available for private rental and group tours.

 

Wistariahurst Museum is dedicated to preserving Holyoke's history and inspiring an appreciation of history and culture through educational programs, exhibits and special events. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Wistariahurst is the former home of William Skinner, a prominent silk manufacturer.

 

Please Visit their website at http://wistariahurst.org

Melissa Boisselle - Museum Director

413-322-5660

boissellem@holyoke.org

Penni Martorell - City Historian/Curator

413-322-5660

martorellp@holyoke.org

Marjorie Latham - Events Coordinator

413-322-5660

lathamm@holyoke.org

Sara English - Hospitality & Functions Coordinator

413-322-5660

englishs@holyoke.org

Eileen Maginnis - Museum Assistant

413-322-5660

maginnise@holyoke.org

Michelle Fredette - Museum Assitant

413-322-5660

fredettem@holyoke.org

Hannah Spiro - Weekend Supervisor

413-322-5660

Julie Bullock - Weekend Supervisor

413-322-5660

No posts found.

Department Head

Melissa Boisselle

Melissa Boisselle

Director

Office Address

238 Cabot Street
Holyoke, MA 01040 Map

Contact Info

Main Office

(413) 322 5660

info@wistariahurst.org

Website

Office Hours


Tours & Gift Shop
Sat., Sun., Mon. 12:00 - 4:00 p.m.

Research Archive
Mon. 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Thurs. 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Office
Mon. - Fri. 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Share This Page

Posted on November 20, 2012 by