Wistariahurst

Wistariahurst is a cultural and educational center owned and operated by the City of Holyoke and supported by Historic Holyoke at Wistariahurst. Wistariahurst is dedicated to preserving Holyoke’s history and inspiring an appreciation of history and culture through educational programs, exhibits and special events.  Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Wistariahurst is the former home of William Skinner, a prominent silk manufacturer and was built in 1874.

The buildings and grounds were owned continually by the Skinner family until 1959, when Katharine Skinner Kilborne, the youngest child of William and Sarah Skinner, and her heirs gave Wistariahurst to the City of Holyoke for cultural and educational purposes. The site is named after the wisteria vines planted in the 1890s by Sarah Skinner, which still grow and bloom along the house's walls today.

Today, Wistariahurst offers a wide variety of public programs and events including: workshops, concerts, lectures and demonstrations and serves the community through educational programs, community partnerships, history projects, and outreach activities. For our calendar of events and opportunities please visit our website at: www.Wistariahurst.org

Kate Preissler - Director

413-322-5660

preisslerk@holyoke.org

Penni Martorell - Curator & City Historian

413-322-5660 x5169

martorellp@holyoke.org

Sara English - Enterprise and Facilities Coordinator

413-322-5660 x5168

englishs@holyoke.org

Brianne Zulkiewicz - Office Assistant

413-322-5660 x5170

zulkiewiczb@holyoke.org

Lisa Nicholson - Program Coordinator

413-322-5660 x5166

nicholsonl@holyoke.org

No posts found.

Department Head

Kate Preissler

Kate Preissler

Director

Office Address

238 Cabot Street
Holyoke, MA 01040 Map

Contact Info

Main Office

(413) 322 5660

info@wistariahurst.org

Website

Office Hours


Tours & Gift Shop
Sat., Sun., Mon. 12:00 - 4:00 p.m.

Research Archive
Mon. 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Thurs. 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Office
Mon. - Fri. 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Share This Page

Posted on November 20, 2012 by