Holyoke Public Library

While, in many ways, its mission remains very much unchanged, what does not change much, but improves through the years, is its resources and services to the community.

The Library’s focus has moved from one of custody of books for the enlightened to promotion of literacy for the many.  The Holyoke Public Library fosters a culture of reading and thought by serving Holyoke residents’ needs for information, lifelong learning and leisure pursuits.  The Library helps preschoolers get ready to learn to read; strengthens reading skills of school- age children; complements all aspects of children’s school activities; and connects children-- and adults--with computers and the information superhighway.

We provide free library cards, programs and services; lend books geared towards the needs and interests of our residents; have special materials like books-on-tapes, Spanish books, language tapes, reference databases, a wide selection of DVDs, compact discs, daily newspapers and magazines, museum passes; reproducible Federal and State tax forms, microfilm reader/printer, photocopy and fax machines. Our reference service helps library users with assignments, research, reference and referrals, Holyoke history, genealogy, library instructions--to teach the use of  library’s sources, tour of the library--etc.

We provide children’s programming such as pre-school story-time, films, Summer Reading Program, and much more; Interlibrary loan service for materials not found in the library; monthly new books list and more.

The Library is handicap accessible; has a community meeting room available to civic, educational, and cultural groups. Our special collections include the Local History Room--which houses an extensive collection of materials on early Holyoke; microfilms of Holyoke Transcript, Holyoke Telegram, the Holyoke Transcript-Telegram (from 1884 to 1993); Springfield Union-News (since 1993).

Please visit our Official Website for much more information.

Office Hours
Monday - Saturday
8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

 

Summer Hours
June to August

Monday-Wednesday
8:30 am-6:00 pm
Thursday-Friday
8:30 am-5:00 pm

Closed
Saturdays, Sundays
& 4th of July

Local History Room
For hours call
413-420-8107

Fall - Winter & Spring
September to May

Monday-Thursday
8:30 am-8:30 pm
Friday-Saturday
8:30 am-4:00 pm

Closed
Sundays & Holidays

Carla Wessels - Assistant Director

(413) 420-8101

cwessels@holyokelibrary.org

Jason Lefebvre - Assistant Director/Children Librarian (evenings)

(413) 420-8105

jlefebvre@holyokelibrary.org

Nathan Hayes - Children Librarian (daytime)

(413) 420-8105

nhayes@holyokelibrary.org

R. Andrew Parker - Financial Manager

(413) 420-8101

parkerr@holyoke.org

Linda Kurowski - Technical Services

(413) 420-8101

lkurowski@holyokelibrary.org

Martha Olver - Technical Services

(413) 420-8101

molver@holyokelibrary.org

Meg Haley - Technical Services

(413) 420-8101

mhaley@holyokelibrary.org

Eileen Crosby - Holyoke History Room Archivist

(413) 420-8107

historyroom@holyokelibrary.org

Michael Baron - Reference Librarian (daytime)

(413) 420-8101

mbarron@holyokelibrary.org

Cheryl Livengood - Reference Librarian (evening)

(413) 420-8101

clivengood@holyokelibrary.org

Lucy Diaz - Library Assistant

(413) 420-8101

ldiaz@holyokelibrary.org

Mayra Rivera - Library Assistant (evening)

(413) 420-8101

mrivera@holyokelibrary.org

Jose Figueroa - Information Technology

(413) 420-8101

figueroa@holyokelibrary.org

Gretcher Rivera - Information Technology

(413) 420-8101

grivera@holyokelibrary.org

Florence Stefancik - Financial Manager Assistant

(413) 420-8101

fstefancik@holyokelibrary.org

Aaron Lempke - Custodian

(413) 420-8101

alempke@holyokelibrary.org

Mark Gadoury - Custodian

(413) 420-8101

No posts found.

Department Head

Maria G. Pagan

Maria G. Pagan

Library Director

Office Address

250 Chestnut Street,
Holyoke, MA 01040 Map

Contact Info


Share This Page

Posted on November 29, 2012 by